Sweetwater elects 4 commissioners, tosses 2 incumbents

Sweetwater residents tossed out two incumbents Tuesday as they elected four people to the eight-member Sweetwater City Commission.

6 MarcosVillanueva

Marcos Villanueva

According to unofficial election results, the winners are David Borrero, the city’s grants administrator; Joniel Diaz, son of former Sweetwater mayor Jose M. Diaz; Cecilia Holtz-Alonso, an interim commissioner who was appointed to fill the remaining months in the Group 3 seat in February and then ran in the Group 4 race; and Marcos Villanueva, a retired Sweetwater police lieutenant.

7 Joniel Diaz

Joniel Diaz

Incumbents Jose ‘Bergi’ Bergouignan and Isolina Maroño were unseated by Villanueva and Holtz-Alonso, respectively.

Sweetwater results

David Borrero 1,308 votes 64.1%

Isidro Ruiz 732 votes 35.9%

Jose ‘Bergi’ Bergouignan 915 votes 44.8%

Jose Mejia 178 votes 8.7%

Marcos Villanueva 947 votes 46.4%

Joniel Diaz 1,092 votes 53.8%

Saul Diaz 939 votes 46.2%

Cecilia Holtz-Alonso 1,112 votes 54.6%

Isolina Maroño 924 votes 45.4%